Sneak Peek: “DIAVOLI” – 13 shades inspired by Dante’s Inferno!

DIAVOLI.rectangle

Reposted from Facebook:

I’m releasing the sneak peek of the entire collection today- because I’m so excited about this collection and I can’t bear to release a sneak peek each day until the release. I’m impatient, because I’m happy! I hope to have the collection fully orderable by 9/15 or sooner.

All color descriptions and pertinent information will be coming soon, but right now I am neck-deep in programming and testing the new website which launches in 3 days.

Please comment on these and let me know that you see them– your feedback is REALLY important to me and inspires me to work even harder. Without it, I often feel like I am formulating colors in a vacuum with no direction and no idea if my customers are happy with my work. I love to read your comments when you like something. It’s what keeps me going! THANKS!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
If Facebook has not been showing you any of our previous posts about this new collection, here’s a little background about this collection! (You’ll see more of our posts if you like/comment on things, or request page notifications)

“DIAVOLI” collection- I hope to release this collection by 9/15.

Diavoli means devil in Italian. I hope you weren’t thinking of ravioli. There’s 13 colors inspired by the Malebranche of the 8th circle of Hell, which in italian is called “Malebolge”, which translates to “evil ditches”. The Malebranche (which means “evil claws”) were 13 devilish demons who patrolled the 5th Bolgia. (only 12 are named in the Inferno). Bolgia 5 was where extortionists, blackmailers, politicians and unscrupulous businessmen: sinners who used their positions in life to gain personal wealth or other advantages for themselves) are punished by being thrown into a river of boiling tar. Should they try to escape, the Malebranche, armed with grappling hooks and barbs, stand guard over them. (Bolgia means “ditch” or “pocket” in Italian)

There’s 9 circles of Hell in Dante’s Inferno, so the potential inspiration for this collection was never lacking, but I decided on naming the shadows after the Malebranche because this particular section of the Inferno interested me in that Dante employed political satire, aimed at particular people or families, in his naming of the demons. For example, it is believed that the demon “Barbariccia” may suggest the Ricci family of Florence, or the Barbarasi of Cremona. In reading this section, I’ve wondered often what modern cast of characters would be found in this section!

The names are long, and some are tongue twisters in Italian. I’ve been studying Italian for years, so have become a rather proficient speaker, and will provide pronunciation guides for each name so that you can pronounce them with pride. I’ll also include different scholarly interpretations of what each name means.

CIRIATTO

FARFARELLOSCARMIGLIONERUBICANTECAGNAZZOMALEBRANCHE ALICHINO BARBARICCIA DRAGHIGNAZZO CALCABRINA LIBICOCCO GRAFFIACANE
MALACODA

Sneak Peek: “DIAVOLI” – 13 shades inspired by Dante’s Inferno!