NEURODIVERGENT eyeshadow to benefit Autism Women’s Network – now available!

10003963_763745690316620_379123887_n“NEURODIVERGENT” is now available for purchase with 50% of sales benefitting Autism Women’s Network! SHOP here for full sizes/samples!

Aromaleigh’s founder and formulator, is herself, a woman on the Autism Spectrum, diagnosed late in life at age 41. Although you probably know her under her professional name of Kristen Leigh Bell, she’s not just our favorite cosmetic formulator and Creative Director- she’s also an advocate for Autism Acceptance and Neurodiversity, writing about her experience as an Autistic woman, single parent and avid homeschooler- on her personal blog, Sonnolenta. You can read more about the important concepts at work in this exquisite color, in the following blog post, where Kristen/Cristiana writes about the unique plight of autistic women, the importance of autism in women being more widely understood, and the all-important idea behind this shade, Neurodiversity: Why I created “NEURODIVERGENT” eyeshadow to benefit Autism Women’s Network!

It’s through the support and the acceptance of the Autism Community that she’s felt the confidence and strength with which to go public about her Autism diagnosis and begin creating gorgeous colors to raise funding for groups such as The Golden Hat Foundation, and now, Autism Women’s Network. “Feeling as if I had a safe place within the Autism community to just be myself and go public about being an Autistic woman has given me such great relief. It was as if an overwhelming weight was lifted from my shoulders. In the last two months, I’ve felt both my creativity and my spirits soar… and a big component of it is that I am no longer feeling trapped, and unable to express myself. The neurodiversity community is something I feel so passionate about, and I’m proud to be a part of it” ~ Cristiana Calderan Bell

Color Description: In formulating an eyeshadow color called “Neurodivergent”, I wanted to create a very complex and beautiful color that could also be worn by women of different coloring. I chose a rich mauve/taupe base with a greenish/teal highlight tone, because these colors are neither very warm nor very cool- they are more neutral and can lean in either direction. While the #lovenotfear color that I designed was very muted and geared towards even autistic women who don’t wear makeup or barely wear makeup, this shade departs into more daring territory- it is deeper toned and more dramatic. I like to think that it reflects the intensity of the autistic experience!”

This color is vegan/cruelty free! It is not lip safe.

Contains: mica (CI 77019), titanium dioxide (CI 77891), tin oxide (CI 7786), tin dioxide (CI 778161), manganese violet (CI 77742), ultramarines (CI 77007), ferric ferrocyanide (CI 77510), calcium aluminum borosilicate, blue 1 lake (CI 42090), red 40 (CI 16035)

Size: Packaged in clear jars with sifter, 1.2 gm net wt jars, Samples are 1/8 tsp zip baggies.

 

NEURODIVERGENT eyeshadow to benefit Autism Women’s Network – now available!